Sask. Premier Brad Wall announces cabinet shuffle

Click to play video: 'Sask. Premier Brad Wall announces cabinet shuffle' Sask. Premier Brad Wall announces cabinet shuffle
Premier Brad Wall shuffled his cabinet today. The shuffle isn't a surprise, but what he did in making the changes may have caught some off guard. With as many as five cabinet ministers bailing to seek the party leadership, Wall had some key holes to fill. David Baxter has more. – Aug 30, 2017

Premier Brad Wall has announced a cabinet shuffle on Wednesday replacing 5 ministers who are now vying for Wall’s job.

Paul Merriman, a first time minister, will now become Saskatchewan’s new Social Service minister after Tina Beaudry-Mellor stepped down from the post to pursue the leadership bid for the Sask. Party.

READ MORE: Social services minister enters race to replace Saskatchewan Premier Brad Wall

Four other MLAs are entering cabinet, including Nancy Heppner who is re-entering cabinet as Minister of Energy and Resources and Minister responsible for Public Service Commission, Steven Bonk who becomes Minister of Economy and Minister responsible for Tourism Saskatchewan, Innovation and Trade, Larry Doke becomes Minister responsible for First Nations, Metis and Northern Affairs and Gene Makowsky steps in as Minister of Parks, Culture and sport as well as Minister for Sask. Liquor and Gaming Authority.

Story continues below advertisement

Lyle Stewart will remain Minister of Agriculture and Jim Reiter will remain Minister of Health.

Don Morgan is still Deputy Premier but will also be the new Justice Minister while retaining the responsibility for Labour and Worker’s Compensation Board.
Donna Harpauer will also be the new finance minister.

READ MORE: Economy Minister Jeremy Harrison enters Saskatchewan Party leadership race

“This new cabinet provides a strong balance of experience and new perspectives as our government goes through the transition period leading to the selection of the new Premier early in 2018,” Premier Brad Wall said.

“Before that happens, there is still plenty of work to do and we plan to have a very active fall, to help ensure Saskatchewan keeps growing stronger.”

The size of the cabinet remains 17 ministers, with four women and 13 men.

Sponsored content