Manitoba Election 2016: Logan riding

Summary: The NDP’s Flor Marcelino, also the Minister of Multiculturalism and Literacy, will seek re-election for a second time having been the Logan MLA since 2007.

Boundaries: The Logan riding has the Tyndall Park, Minto and Wolseley ridings along its western border, Fort Rouge to the south, St Boniface to the east and Point Douglas and Burrows to the north. McPhilips, Langside and Colony Streets run down the eastern edge with Memorial Boulevard and the Assiniboine River running along the southern border. The Red River and Main Street mark the eastern boundary.

Last Election: The NDP’s Flor Marcelino won the riding with 58 per cent of the votes followed by Joe Chan who was running for the Liberals in 2011. Chan, who is now the Manitoba Party’s candidate in area, took home 16.89 per cent of the votes while the Progressive Conservative candidate took 16.35 per cent.

History: The Logan riding has been held by the Manitoba NDP since 1961.


NDP: Flor Marcelino, incumbent MLA

Story continues below advertisement

Progressive Conservative: Allie Szarkiewicz, retired teacher

Liberal: Peter Koroma

Green: Jitendradas Loves-Life

Manitoba Party: Joe Chan

Communist Party of Canada – Manitoba: Cheryl-Anne Carr

Sponsored content