Manitoba Election 2016: St. Johns riding

Summary: With longtime NDP MLA Gord Mackintosh not seeking re-election, voters in St. Johns will elect a rookie MLA on April 19.

Boundaries: The riding is located in the north-end of Winnipeg. The constituency is bordered by Arlington Street to the west, Leila Avenue to the north, the Red River to the east and Church Avenue to the south.

Last Election: NDP’s Mackintosh defeated PC candidate Ray Larkin by 2,752 votes, 65-21 per cent.

History: A small working-class riding, St. Johns is considered safe for the NDP. The riding was held by former MP, Judy Wasylycia-Leis from 1986 to 1993; and Conservation Minister Gord Mackintosh from 1993 to 2016.


NDP: Nahanni Fontaine, indigenous activist

Progressive Conservative: Barbara Judt, former leader of Osborne House

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal: Noel Bernier, founder of local restaurants (Hermano’s, Prairie 360)

Green: Elizabeth Puchailo