March 1, 2016 9:54 am
Updated: August 4, 2016 7:48 pm

Saskatchewan election results 2016: NDP wins Athabasca riding


Bucky Belanger of the NDP has won the Athabasca riding with 1,524 votes beating out the Sask. Party’s Philip Elliott who got 598 votes.

Summary: Perhaps the safest NDP riding in all of Saskatchewan, Buckley Belanger seeks a sixth term in Athabasca.

Story continues below

Boundaries: The riding includes all areas in Saskatchewan north of Meadow Lake provincial park and west of the 106th parallel. It also includes the population to the west of Black Lake, and the communities around Sled Lake and Smoothstone Lake to the east of Meadow Lake provincial park.

Last Election: Belanger defeated Saskatchewan Party candidate Bobby Woods by over 800 votes, 64-35 per cent.

History: Belanger was first elected to this riding as a Liberal in 1995, but switched to the NDP and ran in a 1998 byelection—where he received 94 per cent of the vote—and has won easily ever since. Prior to that, the riding was held by NDP MLA Frederick Thompson from 1975 to 1995, and Liberal MLA Allan Guy from 1960 to 1975. It has never been won by a Progressive Conservative or Saskatchewan Party candidate.


Saskatchewan Party: Philip Elliott, electronic technician

NDP: Buckley Belanger, MLA since 1995

Green: Max Morin, member of Committee for Future Generations

Liberal: Michael Wolverine, business and economic development professional

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News