Saskatchewan election results 2016: Sask. Party wins Saskatoon University riding

Eric Olauson of the Sask. Party has won the Saskatoon University riding with 3,037 votes beating out the NDP’s Jennifer Bowes who got 2,715 votes.

Summary: One of the province’s three new ridings in this election, Saskatoon University was created primarily from the old Saskatoon Sutherland riding, and includes the University of Saskatchewan.

Boundaries: The riding is bordered by Circle Drive on the north, Boychuk Drive on the east and 8th Street East on the south. The western boundary runs north on Wiggins Avenue South from 8th Street to 13th Street Eest, west of Clarence Avenue North and north to University Bridge. The remainder of the west border is made up of the South Saskatchewan River.

Last Election: The Saskatchewan Party’s Paul Merriman, running in Saskatoon Silverspring-Sutherland, won Saskatoon Sutherland with just over 58 per cent of the vote. The NDP’s Naveed Anwar came in second with almost 35 per cent of the vote.

History: The Saskatoon Sutherland riding was won by Merriman in the 2007 provincial election. It was previously held by the Saskatchewan Party’s Joceline Schriemer from 2007-11, the NDP’s Graham Addley from 1999 to 2007 and the NDP’s Mark Koenker from 1991-1995 (In the 1991 election, the riding was known as Saskatoon Sutherland-University).


Saskatchewan Party: Eric Olauson, Saskatoon city councillor

NDP: Jennifer Bowes, Labour Relations Officer with the Health Sciences Association of Saskatchewan

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal: Ezaz Jaseem, small business owner

Green: Marc Taillon

PC: Rose Buscholl, psychology and anthropology student at the University of Saskatchewan