Liberal Maryam Monsef wins in Peterborough-Kawartha

Liberal Maryam Monsef captured the bellwether riding of Peterborough-Kawartha. Maryam Monsef/Twitter

Maryam Monsef has won the riding of Peterborough-Kawartha for the Liberals.

Monsef takes over a vacant seat, vacated by disgraced ex-Conservative MP Dean Del Mastro.

The riding is considered a bellwether, as the winning candidate typically represents the party that forms a government.

Keeping with that trend, the riding has stayed Conservative blue since 2006, and was previously Liberal dating back to 1993.

Del Mastro served as the MP from 2oo6 until November 2014 when he resigned his seat after he was convicted of violating the Elections Canada Act by exceeding campaign limits, then attempting a cover-up.

See the full results

Live real-time results of the 2015 federal election

Sponsored content