New ‘Star Wars’ movie title revealed

JJ Abrams, pictured in September 2013. Getty Images

TORONTO — Disney revealed the name of its forthcoming Star Wars reboot on Thursday.

The film, directed by J.J. Abrams, will be called Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

Principal photography of Episode VII wrapped last weekend.

READ MORE: Star Wars shoot on protected island angers environmentalists

The movie features original cast members Carrie Fisher (Princess Leia), Harrison Ford (Han Solo), Mark Hamill (Luke Skywalker), Anthony Daniels (C3PO) and Peter Mayhew (Chewbacca).

Set 30 years after Star Wars: Episode VI – The Return of the Jedi, The Force Awakens is due in cinemas on Dec. 18, 2015.

New additions to the cast include Andy Serkis, Lupita Nyong’o, Adam Driver and John Boyega.

Story continues below advertisement

Sponsored content