Facebook encourages users to review settings with ‘privacy checkup’
TORONTO – Facebook is being more proactive in ensuring its users fully understand their privacy settings and who can see their posts.
On Thursday, the social media giant began pushing out a pop-up message asking that users spend “a minute or two” reviewing their privacy settings to confirm everything is setup right.
Facebook, which has more than 19 million users in Canada, will first target users who log in with a desktop or laptop computer.
Facebook intends to have the same pop-ups appear on mobile devices in the future.
“We’re trying to listen closely to user feedback and help people make sure they’re sharing with who they want — and we’ve been doing it a bit more proactively than usual,” said Facebook product manager Paddy Underwood.
“We think it’s really important that people do the (settings review) and make sure their things are setup up just the way they want.”
“We just want to make sure that this is a thing they want to be doing and if not, then give them an opportunity to proactively change their audience,” said Mike Nowak, a product manager on the company’s privacy team, at the time.
“We understand that in the past some people have felt that privacy on Facebook has changed too frequently or that we haven’t communicated as well as we could about privacy.”
How to review your privacy settings
Once logged into Facebook on desktop, click the lock icon located at the top right of your screen.
Canadian users will now see the “Privacy Check-up” at the top of the selections.
The first step will allow you to review your default audience when posting status updates, photos, or checking into locations. Most people will have this defaulted to “Friends” which means only your friends will be able to see what you are posting. If your settings default to “Public” it means anyone who accesses your profile can see your post.
The second step will allow you to review all of the apps that are logged into your Facebook account. It’s a good idea to remove any apps that you no longer use, or don’t want associated with your Facebook account.
The final step will allow you to review your “About Me” information and see what items are visible to the public.
– With files from Global News’ Nicole Bogart
© 2014 The Canadian Press