Blaine Hyggen elected mayor of Lethbridge

Click to play video: 'Lethbridge mayor-elect Blaine Hyggen wins by slim margin'
Lethbridge mayor-elect Blaine Hyggen wins by slim margin
Jessica Robb chats with unofficial Lethbridge mayor-elect Blaine Hyggen after his narrow victory over Bridget Mearns. – Oct 19, 2021

Blaine Hyggen was elected the mayor of Lethbridge by a slim margin on Monday.

Read more: Alberta election results 2021: Find your municipality

He received 11,973 votes, winning 42.79 per cent of the vote.

Hyggen said it was stressful watching the results roll in, but he was excited overall.

“I’m kind of at a loss for words, to be very honest,” he said. “It’s super exciting.”

Hyggen said he is a mayor for all.

“Those that didn’t vote for me, those that voted for me, keep me to task. Challenge me,” he said.

Bridget Mearns pictured in Lethbridge on Monday, Oct. 18, 2021. Global News

It was a tight race: Bridget Mearns came in second with 11,465 votes, meaning 40.97 per cent of ballots cast.

Story continues below advertisement

Mearns, a former councillor, is disappointed with the results.

“I would have liked to have seen the reverse or even a larger lead on my behalf, but they are what they are,” she said.

“What I was presenting and what I was offering was an entirely different leadership approach. It was a community approach. It was a collaborative approach, so we’ll see what this new council can bring. We’ll see the leadership that Blaine can bring.”

Click to play video: 'Bridget Mearns reacts to 2nd place finish in Lethbridge mayor race'
Bridget Mearns reacts to 2nd place finish in Lethbridge mayor race

Hyggen is a two-term councillor who was elected in 2013.

His message to incoming councillors is about working together.

“If there’s been any bad blood in the past, let’s wipe the slate clean. Let’s better this community, and let’s do it all together,” he said.

Story continues below advertisement
Lethbridge mayor-elect Blaine Hyggen at Honkers Pub and Eatery on Monday, Oct. 18, 2021. Jessica Robb/Global News

Hyggen’s first order of business is to sit down with his new council to get some direction from them.

“What do they want? Because collectively, as a council, we need to look at that,” he said.

Read more: Decision Lethbridge 2021: Municipal election an opportunity for a more diverse city council

Other candidates in Lethbridge’s mayoral race included: Sheldon Joseph Day Chief, Gary Klassen, Stephen Mogdan and Kolton (The Maniac) Menzak.

Mayor Chris Spearman did not seek a third term.

Unofficial results of Lethbridge’s 2021 mayoral race. City of Lethbridge

Lethbridge councillors

Lethbridge has elected eight councillors:

Story continues below advertisement
  • Rajko Dodic
  • Belinda Crowson
  • Jenn Schmidt-Rempel
  • Ryan Parker
  • John Middleton-Hope
  • Mark Campbell
  • Jeff Carlson
  • Nick Paladino

Rajko Dodic, a former Lethbridge mayor, came in first in the race for council.

“Eleven years ago exactly today, [I was] elected as mayor,” he said.

“Where I come in is not as important to me, as I’m just very happy and pleased that the citizens of Lethbridge had faith in me to elect me as a councillor.”

Unofficial results of Lethbridge’s 2021 mayoral race. City of Lethbridge

There were 81,276 eligible voters, according to the City of Lethbridge.


Sponsored content