Canada election results: Calgary Skyview

Global News is projecting George Chahal has won Calgary Skyview for the Liberal Party of Canada.

A one-term Calgary city councillor who served the northeast ward that nearly perfectly overlaps the federal riding, Chahal flipped the riding back to Liberal for 2021.

“This election is a really important election for the future of our city and the future of our country,” Chahal told his supports late Monday night.

Chahal pledged to continue to work on Liberal promises of affordable childcare and expanding public transit as an MP.

“(Childcare is) extremely important to get more women in the workforce,” Chahal told reporters. “We want to make sure we have those opportunities for good public transit.”

Story continues below advertisement

The outgoing councillor pointed to work he contributed to on city council in securing funding for the Green Line LRT from all orders of government, including two different provincial governments.

Breaking news from Canada and around the world sent to your email, as it happens.

“We can continue on that work but we need to make sure that we are working together for the best interest of Calgarians. And we’ve got to put partisanship to the side and focus on delivering for our city and province.”

Calgary Skyview includes the Calgary International Airport and neighbourhoods to the north and east of the airport. The riding came into effect for the 2015 federal election following the 2012 redistribution.

The Conservative Party’s Jagdeep (Jag) Sahota won the Calgary Skyview riding in 2019, garnering over 50 per cent of the vote. The Liberal Party’s Nirmala Naidoo placed second with 28.4 per cent, with the NDP’s Gurinder Singh Gill coming in third.

Previously, 46 per cent of voters selected the Liberals’ Darshan Kang to represent the riding in 2015.  Kang resigned from the Liberal caucus during a House of Commons investigation that found he harassed a staffer.

Calgary Skyview has a population of 135,730 and 84,915 registered voters. Immigrants from countries such as India, Pakistan and the Philippines make up close to 50 per cent of this riding’s population.


Conservative: Jagdeep Sahota (incumbent)

Liberal: George Chahal

NDP: Gurinder Singh Gill

People’s Party: Harry Dhillon

Greens: Janna So

Marxist-Leninist Party: Daniel Blanchard

–with files from Nida Omar, Global News


Sponsored content