Canada election results: Kitchener Centre

Global News is projecting Mike Morrice has been elected as the new Green MP for Kitchener Centre.

The riding had been a Liberal stronghold since 1997 with the exception of the 2008 and 2011 elections, when Conservative Stephen Woodworth was elected.

Liberal incumbent Raj Saini was first elected in the riding in 2015 and took the seat again in 2019.

On Sept. 4, Saini announced he would not be seeking re-election although his name remains on the ballot.

Kitchener Centre is bordered by Highway 8 to the south, the border of the city to the east, Fischer-Hallman Road to the west and the CN Rail line to the north. The riding has been represented in the House of Commons since 1997.

The riding is the smallest and most urban riding in the tri-cities area. It is home to 105,258 residents.

Story continues below advertisement

About 23.5 per cent of the riding’s population are immigrants, and the most common non-official mother tongues are German, Spanish and Serbian, according to the 2016 census.


Conservative: Mary Henein Thorn
NDP: Beisan Zubi
Green: Mike Morrice
APPC: Ellen Papenburg
PPC: Diane Boskovic

Sponsored content