Canada election results: Hamilton West—Ancaster—Dundas

Liberal MP Filomena Tassi has been re-elected in the riding of Hamilton West—Ancaster—Dundas, according to Elections Canada.

Tassi defeated Conservative Bert Laranjo by just under 10,000 votes on Sept. 20, 2021.

Of the 59,335 votes cast in the Hamilton-area riding, Tassi finished with 26,029. Runner-up Laranjo finished with 17,362.

Tassi has won the riding three times in the past decade with previous wins in 2015 and 2019.

She would move from Canada’s labour minister in October to become minister of procurement following the forming of a new cabinet.

The riding was created by the 2012 federal electoral boundaries redistribution. It came into effect with the 42nd Canadian federal election in 2015.

A sprawling suburban area to the west of Hamilton’s centre, the riding includes Ancaster and Dundas, and the areas southwest of Mohawk College. It has a riding population of around 109,535.

Story continues below advertisement

Twenty-six per cent of the riding’s population are immigrants, with many residents born in Italy, China and the U.K., according to the 2016 census.


Liberals: Filomena Tassi (incumbent)
Conservatives: Bert Laranjo
NDP: Roberto Henriquez
Green: Victoria Galea
People’s Party Of Canada: Dean Woods
Parti Rhinocéros Party: Spencer Rocchi

Sponsored content