Canada election results: Papineau

Liberal Party Leader Justin Trudeau is the projected winner in the Montreal riding of Papineau.

The riding of Papineau is located in Montreal. It includes the borough of Villeray–Saint-Michel–Parc-Extension.

Liberal Party Leader Justin Trudeau has held the seat in this riding since 2008, when he took it from the Bloc Québécois, winning by just 1,200 votes.

Trudeau was first elected as prime minister in 2015, securing a majority government. He was re-elected in 2019 with 51.1 per cent of the vote in the riding, with the Liberals losing their majority and forming a minority government.

One of the surrounding ridings is Outremont, which was held by former NDP leader Tom Mulcair.

Spanish is the mother tongue for six per cent of the riding’s population.

Story continues below advertisement


Liberal Party: Justin Trudeau (incumbent)

Bloc Québécois: Nabila Ben Youssef

Conservative Party: Julio Rivera

Green Party: Alain Lépine

Independent: Raymond Martin

Independent: Béatrice Zako

Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada: Garnet Colly

NDP: Christine Paré

People’s Party of Canada: Christian Boutin

Rhinoceros Party: Above Znoneofthe

Sponsored content