New Brunswick election: Rothesay

Rothesay riding re-elects PC incumbent Ted Flemming by a landslide in the 2020 election.

Riding background

Rothesay is a mostly suburban riding that includes a portion of Saint John and Rothesay.

The district has elected a PC candidate since 1999.


Liberal: Jason Hickey

Progressive Conservative: Ted Flemming (incumbent)

  • Served as health minister

Green: Ann McAllister

People’s Alliance: Mike Griffin

Independent: Neville Barnett

Story continues below advertisement

Independent: Liz Kramer

Read more: All our New Brunswick election 2020 coverage



Tory incumbent Ted Flemming retained his seat in the 2018 election by raking in 50 per cent of the vote.

Fleming defeated Stephanie Tomilson of the Liberals, who earned 28.2 per cent of the vote.


Flemming retained his seat in the 2014 general election.

Flemming won with 45.2 per cent of the vote, while Liberal candidate Tomilson earned 27.4 per cent of the vote.

2012 byelection

Margaret-Ann Blaney resigned her seat in 2012 to become the president and chief executive officer of Efficiency New Brunswick, prompting a byelection in June 2012.

Flemming won the byelection with 38.3 per cent of the vote, defeating Liberal candidate John Wilcox, who earned 31.3 per cent of the vote.

Story continues below advertisement


PC incumbent Blaney was re-elected in 2010, easily defeating the field of other candidates by earning 56.6 per cent of the vote.  

Blaney had served in several cabinet positions in the Tory governments of Bernard Lord and David Alward.

Sponsored content