New Brunswick election: Carleton

Carleton elects new PC candidate Bill Hogan in the 2020 election.

Riding background

The district encompasses part of the former districts of Woodstock and the southern parts of the now-defunct Carleton. It includes the town of Hartland.

Both had traditionally voted Conservative, with the result being replicated in the newly-created district in the 2014 general election and a 2015 by-election.

The trend of election Conservative candidates continued in 2018.


Liberal: Theresa Blackburn

Progressive Conservative: Bill Hogan

Green: Gregory Crouse

  • Crouse was an NDP candidate in the 2015 by-election and earned 3.95 per cent of the vote.

People’s Alliance: Graham Gill

Story continues below advertisement

KISS N.B.: Andy Walton

Read more: All our New Brunswick election 2020 coverage



Progressive Conservative incumbent candidate Stewart Fairgrieve won 39.6 per cent of the vote.

2015 by-election

A by-election was held on Oct. 5, 2015, after David Alward resigned from the legislature on May 22, 2015.

Progressive Conservative candidate Stewart Fairgrieve won 49.9 per cent of the vote, defeating a slate of candidates, including Liberal candidate Courtney Keenan who earned 33.5 per cent of the vote.


Carleton was reformed under the 2013 electoral redistricting with then-premier and PC Leader David Alward being the first to win the riding, earning 56.8 per cent of the vote.

However, as a result of his government’s defeat, Alward would announce his resignation as leader of the party.

Blaine Higgs would later win the Tory leadership.

Story continues below advertisement


Former districts Woodstock and Carleton both went to the PCs in the 2010 election, with then-premier David Alward winning Woodstock and Dale Graham winning Carleton.