New Brunswick election: Moncton Centre

Moncton Centre re-elects Liberal Rob McKee in the 2020 election.

Riding background

The 2013 redistricting process resulted in the creation of the new Moncton Centre riding. The district incorporated portions of the former ridings of Moncton East and Moncton North.


Liberal: Rob McKee (incumbent)

Progressive Conservative: Jean Poirier

NDP: James Caldwell

Green: Carole Chan

People’s Alliance: Aaron Richter



Story continues below advertisement

Liberal candidate Rob McKee won the seat with 43.6 per cent of the vote.

McKee defeated independent candidate Chris Collins, who had been suspended from the Liberal caucus after harassment allegations came to light in April 2018. 

Collins, who had served as the Speaker of the New Brunswick legislature, earned 19.4 per cent of the vote.


The 2014 election saw two sitting MLAs compete for the newly formed district of Moncton Centre.  

Chris Collins, Liberal incumbent for Moncton East, faced off against Marie-Claude Blais, PC incumbent for Moncton North.

Blais had served in the positions of Attorney General, Minister of Justice and Minister of Education in the David Alward government.

Collins would go on to defeat Blais and take the new seat. Collins earned 53 per cent of the vote while Blais earned 25 per cent.


Liberal incumbent Chris Collins retained the seat of Moncton East in the 2010 election, defeating PC candidate Karen Nelson.

Story continues below advertisement

Tory candidate Marie-Claude Blais defeated Liberal candidate Kevin Robart in Moncton North during the 2010 election.

Liberal Mike Murphy, the incumbent for Moncton North, chose not to re-offer for the 2010 election.