New Brunswick election: Kent South

Liberal incumbent Benoît Bourque wins Kent South riding in the 2020 election.

Riding background

The 2013 redistricting saw the dissolution of the Kent riding. Kent South was created out of portions of the former districts of Kent and Kent South.


Liberal: Benoît Bourque (incumbent)

  • Served as the Minister of Health in the Brian Gallant government

Progressive Conservative:  Raymond J. (Bou) Duplessis

NDP: Sue Shedd

Green: Eva P. Rehak

People’s Alliance: Lisa Godin

Story continues below advertisement



Incumbent Liberal Benoît Bourque retained his seat by earning 60.9 per cent of the vote in the 2018 election. 

He defeated Ricky Gautreau, who raked in 20.1 per cent of the vote, Alain Rousselle of the Green Party who, earned the 14.2 per cent of the vote, and NDP Serge Rémi Parent, who earned 4.7 per cent of the vote.


Benoît Bourque won the newly-formed riding in the 2014 election, defeating Claude Williams, who had been the PC incumbent in the former riding of Kent South. 

Bourque earned 48.7 per cent of the riding, while Williams earned 33.8 per cent.


PC incumbent Claude Williams retained his seat in Kent South during the 2010 election, while then-Liberal Party leader Shawn Graham retained his seat in Kent.