7 more regions now in Stage 3 including some of GTA, Hamilton, Niagara areas

York, Durham and Halton regions entering Stage 3 amid COVID-19 pandemic. Toronto, not yet
WATCH ABOVE (July 20, 2020): York, Durham and Halton regions entering Stage 3 amid COVID-19 pandemic.

More Ontario regions are officially now in Stage 3 of the province’s reopening plan that permits indoor dining and recreation, gyms and an increase to gathering limits.

The following seven regions in the province moved into Stage 3 of reopening amid the coronavirus pandemic on Friday, July 24 at 12:01 a.m.:

  • York Region
  • Durham Region
  • Halton Region
  • Hamilton
  • Niagara Region
  • Haldimand-Norfolk
  • Lambton

Toronto, Peel Region and Windsor-Essex will remain in Stage 2 for a little while longer due to the number of COVID-19 cases seen daily in these areas.

[ Sign up for our Health IQ newsletter for the latest coronavirus updates ]

The rest of Ontario moved into Stage 3 last Friday.

Read more: Remaining Ontario regions to move to Stage 3 Friday, except Toronto, Peel, Windsor

As part of Stage 3, indoor dining (except for buffet operations) will be allowed to resume at restaurants and bars.

Story continues below advertisement

Gyms will be permitted to reopen with strict measures in place.

Attractions like galleries, zoos, museums, movie theatres and performing arts venues will be able to reopen with public health measures in place. Convention centres, live shows and playgrounds will also be allowed to open.

Gathering limits will increase to a maximum of 50 people when indoors and a maximum of 100 people outdoors.

The government said individuals will still be required to maintain physical distancing with people from outside of their social circle, which remains capped at 10 people.

— With files from Global News’ Ryan Rocca.