Manitobans shut out in first round of WHL Bantam Draft for 1st time in decade

The Calgary Hitmen and Winnipeg Ice stand together to #EndBullying prior to Thursday's WHL game. Cami Kepke / Global News

For the first time since 2010, no Manitobans were selected in the first round of the Western Hockey League’s Bantam Draft.

When all was said and done, though, a total of 33 players were selected from the province.

Five Manitobans had their name called out in round two, with Winnipeg Warriors centreman Jayden Perron going 23rd overall to the Portland Winterhawks. The Winnipeg product scored 46 goals with 58 assists for 104 points in just 36 games last season.

Story continues below advertisement

Just five picks later, the Saskatoon Blades grabbed Perron’s teammate, centre Lukas Hansen. He also averaged more than a goal per game with 43 goals and 42 assists in only 36 contests for the Warriors.

With the very next selection, right winger Brayden Dube went to the Seattle Thunderbirds with the 29th overall pick. The Roblin native suited up for the Parkland Rangers last season.

Click to play video: 'Junior hockey: After 29 years, the Kelowna Rockets’ longest employee steps down' Junior hockey: After 29 years, the Kelowna Rockets’ longest employee steps down
Junior hockey: After 29 years, the Kelowna Rockets‚Äô longest employee steps down ‚Äď Apr 21, 2020

Headingley’s Rylan Gould of the Winnipeg Monarchs went to the Swift Current Broncos with the 42nd selection. And the Broncos closed out the second round by selecting Gould’s Monarchs’ teammate, defenceman Grayson Burzynski.

In all 13 players were selected from Winnipeg, two from Dauphin, and one each from Brandon, Roblin, Headingley, La Salle, Virden, Sanford, Flin Flon, West St. Paul, St. Andrews, Russell, Mitchell, Niverville, Rivers, Stonewall, Elkhorn, Swan River, Portage La Prairie, and Birtle.

Story continues below advertisement

Manitobans Selected

Pick    Position     Name     Team                Hometown

23.  C Jayden Perron РPortland Winterhawks (Winnipeg)

28.  C Lukas Hansen РSaskatoon Blades (Winnipeg)

29.  RW Brayden Dube РSeattle Thunderbirds (Roblin)

42.  C Rylan Gould РSwift Current Broncos (Headingley)

44.  D Grayson Burzynski РSwift Current Broncos (Winnipeg)

55.  RW Tyler Parr РSaskatoon Blades (La Salle)

60.  D Liam Saxberg РSwift Current Broncos (Winnipeg)

74.  D Ty Plaisier РRegina Pats (Virden)

97.  D Carter Sotheran РPortland Winterhawks (Sanford)

99.  RW Reeve Sukut РSeattle Thunderbirds (Winnipeg)

127. D Blake Jones – Kamloops Blazers (Winnipeg)

132. D Scott Miner – Prince Albert Raiders (Winnipeg)

133. C Joey Lies – Swift Current Broncos (Flin Flon)

141. G Donovan Bodnar – Portland Winterhawks (West St. Paul)

Story continues below advertisement

145. C Hayden Chaloner – Brandon Wheat Kings (Winnipeg)

148. D Aiden Ziprick – Lethbridge Hurricanes (Russell)

153. RW Kyan Grouette – Everett Silvertips (Dauphin)

158. LW Dawson Zeller – Edmonton Oil Kings (St. Andrews)

166. D Ethan Alsip – Calgary Hitmen (Winnipeg)

168. D Omen Harmacy – Winnipeg Ice (Winnipeg)

172. C Carter Zalischuk – Spokane Chiefs (Dauphin)

177. LW Evan Groening – Brandon Wheat Kings (Niverville)

178. C Job Peters – Moose Jaw Warriors (Mitchell)

182. RW Ben Roulette – Red Deer Rebels (Rivers)

196. C Hayden Wheddon – Edmonton Oil Kings (Stonewall)

197. RW Carter Dittmer – Everett Silvertips (Brandon)

198. C Aiden Sotas – Portland Winterhawks (Birtle)

199. C Brandon Funk – Swift Current Broncos (Winnipeg)

211. D Thomas Stewart – Brandon Wheat Kings (Winnipeg)

212. D Foxx McColl – Winnipeg Ice (Elkhorn)

Story continues below advertisement

219. LW Chase Simon – Everett Silvertips (Winnipeg)

228. LW Will Munro – Kelowna Rockets (Swan River)

234. G Ty Hogue – Winnipeg Ice (Portage La Prairie)

The Winnipeg Ice had a total of 13 picks in the Bantam Draft. After adding left winger Zach Benson of Chilliwack , B.C. with their first round pick at 14th overall, the Ice didn’t have another pick until the 3rd round. They used the 58th pick to select forward Aiden Oiring of Calgary.

Three of their picks hail from Manitoba. The Ice added defenceman Omen Harmacy of Winnipeg in the eighth round. He played in Minnesota for Shattuck-St. Mary’s last season. They also selected Elkhorn’s Foxx McColl in the 10th round, and Portage’s Ty Hogue in round 11.

READ MORE: Winnipeg Ice select B.C. forward Zach Benson as 1st round WHL Bantam Draft pick

Winnipeg Ice Selections

Pick    Position     Name     Previous Team    Hometown

14. LW Zach Benson – Yale H.A. Bantam Prep (Chilliwack, B.C.)

58. C Aiden Oiring – Calgary Royals (Calgary, AB)

80. D Ashton Cumby – Lloydminster Bobcats (Bonnyville, AB)

Story continues below advertisement

94. RW Ty Fraser – Lethbridge Golden Hawks (Raymond, AB)

146. D Isaiah Arnold – Saskatoon Bandits (Saskatoon, SK)

155. G Brock Lott – Red Deer Rebels AAA (Red Deer, AB)

159. D Josh Karman – Calgary CNHA Northstar Sabres (Calgary, AB)

168. D Omen Harmacy – Shattuck-St. Mary’s Sabres (Winnipeg)

190. C Connor Dale – Edmonton Bantam Prep (St. Albert, AB)

212. D Foxx McColl – Yellowhead Chiefs (Elkorn)

234. G Ty Hogue – Central Plains Capitals (Portage La Prairie)

256. D Jack Ketsa – St. Albert Sabres (St. Albert)

278. LW Jaxon Sperling – Yorkton Terriers Bantam (Yorkton, SK)

READ MORE: Winnipeg’s Seth Jarvis nominated for WHL award

The Brandon Wheat Kings picked up 11 new players, including three from their home province. The Wheaties used their first round pick on defenceman Quinn Mantei of Weyburn, but also added Winnipeg’s Hayden Chaloner and Thomas Stewart, as well as Niverville’s Evan Groening.

Story continues below advertisement

Brandon Wheat Kings Selections

Pick    Position     Name     Former Team    Hometown

13.  D Quinn Mantei РWeyburn Wings (Weyburn, SK)

35.  LW Trae Johnson РMartensville Marauders (Martensville, SK)

57.  LW Teydon Trembecky РNorthern Alberta Xtreme Bantam Prep (Strathcona, AB)

79.  D Eastyn Mannix РNorthern Alberta Xtreme Bantam Prep (Wainright, AB)

96.  G Carter Capton РYale H.A. Bantam Prep (Lethbridge, AB)

142. D Oakley Mcilwain – Lloydminster Bobcats (Lloydminster, AB)

145. C Hayden Chaloner – Winnipeg Sharks (Winnipeg)

167. C Jeter Korte – Saskatoon Maniacs (Saskatoon, SK)

177. LW Evan Groening – Rink H.A. Nationals Bantam Prep (Niverville)

189. RW Noah Asmundson – Prairie Storm (White City, SK)

211. D Thomas Stewart – Rink H.A. Nationals Bantam Prep (Winnipeg)

Sponsored content