2019 Canada election: Laval–Les Îles

Liberal incumbent Fayçal El-Khoury has won the riding of Laval–Les Îles.

With 35 out of 214 polls reporting, Global News has declared El-Khoury elected in this riding. 

Laval–Les Îles is made up of the western part of Laval. It includes the neighbourhoods of Laval-sur-le-Lac, Laval-Ouest, Fabreville, Sainte-Dorothée, Chomedey and Sainte-Dorothée Station. According to Statistics Canada, the median income in the riding was over $32,000 in 2015. 

Summary:  Fayçal El-Khoury is a Lebanese engineer who was elected in the 2015 election with over 47 per-cent of the total vote. He faced Conservative candidate Tom Pentefountas, the former Vice-Chairman Broadcasting of CRTC (Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission).

History: Since the creation of the riding from Laval West, the electoral district has always elected a Liberal MP except for 2011, when François Pilon of the NDP was elected. 

Story continues below advertisement


Liberal: Fayçal El-Khoury (incumbent)

Conservatives: Tom Pentefountas

Green: Sari Madi

Bloc Québécois: Nacera Bedad

NDP: Noémia Onofre De Lima 

PPC: Marie-Louise Beauchamp

Sponsored content