2019 Canada election results: Abitibi–Témiscamingue

Sébastien Lemire of the Bloc Québécois has won the riding of Abitibi–Témiscamingue, Global News has declared.

Abitibi–Témiscamingue is home to many reserves including, Timiskaming Indian Reserve No. 19, Pikogan Indian Reserve and Eagle Village First Nation-Kipawa Indian Reserve and settlements of Winneway and Hunter’s point. 

Incumbent NDP MP Christine Moore did not seek re-election. Liberal Claude Thibault ran for the same seat in 2015.

Boundaries: Abitibi—Témiscamingue is located in the southwestern part of Quebec along the Ontario border, starting from the Ottawa River in the south to a tiny part of James Bay in the north. In 2004, 26 per-cent of Abitibi—Baie-James—Nunavik was added which increased the population by 24,613 people.

Last Election: In 2015, Christine Moore was reelected after defeating the Bloc’s Yvon Moreau. 

History: This seat was primarily Bloc Québécois territory from 1993 through 2011, with Liberal MP Gilbert Barrette holding the seat for just one year after a by-election in 2003. Like Quebec electoral districts outside the Island of Montreal, they elected BQ candidates from 1993 to 2011, PC candidates in 1984 and 1988.


Story continues below advertisement

Incumbent: Christine Moore (not seeking re-election)

NDP: Alain Guimond 

Liberals: Claude Thibault

Conservatives: Mario Provencher

Green: Aline Bégin

Bloc Québécois: Sébastien Lemire

PPC: Jacques Girard

Sponsored content