Canada election: St. Albert – Edmonton

Riding boundaries for the electoral district of St. Albert-Edmonton
Riding boundaries for the electoral district of St. Albert-Edmonton . Elections Canada

This riding has elected Conservative MPs since its creation. With two conservative candidates, including incumbent Michael Cooper running again, it would be expected for this riding to swing right again.


Liberal: Gregory Springate
CPC: Michael Cooper (Incumbent)
NDP: Kathleen Mpubulusi
Green: Rob Dunbar
PPC: Brigitte Cecelia


Formerly called Edmonton-St. Albert, this riding’s name was reversed in 2015, reflecting that it is now much more St. Albert than Edmonton. Only neighbourhoods in Edmonton’s extreme northwest are now included in this riding.


The Conservatives have held this area since the former riding’s creation in 2004. In 2015, there was a major upset in this riding. Former Conservative turned independent MP Brent Rathgeber was seeking re-election to a third term. His Conservative opponent, Michael Cooper, was one of Rathgeber’s biggest supporters when he was running for election in 2008. The two friends faced off and saw the conservative vote split and electing Cooper.

Story continues below advertisement
Global News Redesign Global News Redesign
A fresh new look for Global News is here, tell us what you think
Take a Survey

Sponsored Stories