2019 Canada election results: Bécancour—Nicolet—Saurel

Global News has declared Louis Plamondon elected in Bécancour—Nicolet—Saurel.

The Bloc Québécois MP has served the riding for the past 10 consecutive federal elections. He briefly stepped away from the party in 2018 and sat as an independent MP but rejoined the Bloc within the year.

Plamondon has been an MP  since 1984, making him the longest-serving current member of the House of Commons.

Bécancour—Nicolet—Saurel is located on the southern bank of the St. Lawrence River, opposite the city of Trois-Rivières.

Boundaries: The municipal and electoral boundaries of this riding consist of the regions of Centre-du-Québec and Montérégie.

Last election: The young voters of Bécancour—Nicolet—Saurel elected longstanding Bloc  MP Louis Plamondon, with 39.98 per cent of the votes in 2015.

History:  Plamondon was first elected here as a Progressive Conservative. He left the party to help create the Bloc Québécois in 1990.


Bloc Québécois: Louis Plamondon (Incumbent)

Conservative: Pierre-André Émond

Liberal: Nathalie Rochefort

NDP: Carole Lennard

Green: David Turcotte

PPC: Richard Synnott


Sponsored content