Sackville-Cobequid byelection to be held next month

An election official hands back to a voter her marked ballot to place in the ballot box so she can cast her vote for the federal election at a polling station on Toronto's Ward Island on Monday May 2, 2011. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chris Young

The Nova Scotia government has announced that the byelection for Sackville-Cobequid will be held on June 18.

The seat in the constituency opened up in November when NDP MLA Dave Wilson announced he was stepping down.

READ MORE: Nova Scotia NDP house leader Dave Wilson retires after 15 years in legislature

Halifax councillor Steve Craig will run for the Progressive Conservatives, Lara Fawthrop for the NDP, Michel Hindlet for the Liberals and Anthony Edmonds will represent the Greens.

Sackville-Cobequid has been a stronghold for the NDP, with Dave Wilson representing the riding since 2003. Prior to that, NDP MLA John Holm held the seat for over a decade.

READ MORE: Lack of physicians forcing Lower Sackville walk-in clinic to close

McNeil had until Thursday to call the election.

Story continues below advertisement

Early voting for the byelection will open on Thursday, May 16. An advance poll will be held at the Knights of Columbus Council for seven days, from Saturday, June 8 to Saturday, June 15, except Sunday June 9.

Sponsored content