2019 Juno Awards winners: Shawn Mendes wins 5, including album of the year

WATCH: 'ET Canada' on the 2019 Junos red carpet

On Sunday night, the best artists in Canadian music were honoured at the 2019 Juno Awards in London, Ont.

Shawn Mendes won five Junos, including album of the year. Hamilton, Ont.-founded rockers Arkells took home group of the year. Canadian country trio The Washboard Union won their first-ever Juno, breakthrough group of the year.

READ MORE: Corey Hart gives emotional speech after inducted to Hall of Fame at Junos

“The three of us could not be more proud at this moment to be Canadian and to join the incredible lineage of Canadian talent honoured by the Junos,” said The Washboard Union in a collective statement to Global News. “We are truly blessed to be able to do what we do and we share this award with every single one of our fans in Canada and around the world.”

Story continues below advertisement

Hosted by Canadian chanteuse Sarah McLachlan, the ceremony featured several poignant moments, including an emotional speech by singer Corey Hart.

A partial list of the winners is below.

Group of the year
** WINNER: Arkells
The Sheepdogs
Three Days Grace

Album of the year
** WINNER: Shawn Mendes – Shawn Mendes
Hubert Lenoir – Darlene
Jann Arden – These Are the Days
The Weeknd – My Dear Melancholy
Three Days Grace – Outsider

Juno Fan Choice
** WINNER: Avril Lavigne
Alessia Cara
Elijah Woods x Jamie Fine
Loud Luxury
Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd
Tory Lanez

Breakthrough artist of the year
** WINNER: B​ülow
Johnny Orlando
Meghan Patrick

R&B/Soul recording of the year
** WINNER: Jessie Reyez – Being Human In Public
Anders – Twos
Black Atlass – Pain & Pleasure
Charlotte Day Wilson – Stone Woman
The Weeknd – My Dear Melancholy

WATCH BELOW: Meghan Patrick plans on getting ‘Drunk On Whiskey’ post-Junos

Click to play video: 'Meghan Patrick Plans On Getting ‘Drunk On Whiskey’ Post JUNOs' Meghan Patrick Plans On Getting ‘Drunk On Whiskey’ Post JUNOs
Meghan Patrick Plans On Getting ‘Drunk On Whiskey’ Post JUNOs – Mar 17, 2019

Country album of the year
** WINNER: Brett Kissel – We Were That Song
Jess Moskaluke – A Small Town Christmas
Meghan Patrick – Country Music Made Me Do It
The Reklaws – Feels Like That
Tim Hicks – New Tattoo

Single of the year
Alessia Cara, Growing Pains
B​ülow, Not a Love Song
Loud Luxury, Body
** WINNER: Shawn Mendes, In My Blood
The Weeknd and Kendrick Lamar, Pray For Me

International album of the year
Camila Cabello, Camila
Cardi B, Invasion of Privacy
Maroon 5, Red Pill Blues
** WINNER: Post Malone, Beerbongs & Bentleys
Travis Scott, Astroworld

Artist of the year
Alessia Cara
Michael Bublé
** WINNER: Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd
Tory Lanez

WATCH BELOW: Jess Moskaluke on collaborating with and competing against fellow nominees

Click to play video: 'Jess Moskaluke On Collaborating With And Competing Against Her Fellow Nominees' Jess Moskaluke On Collaborating With And Competing Against Her Fellow Nominees
Jess Moskaluke On Collaborating With And Competing Against Her Fellow Nominees – Mar 17, 2019

Breakthrough group of the year
Elijah Woods x Jamie Fine
Loud Luxury
** WINNER: The Washboard Union

Adult alternative album of the year
** WINNER: Bahamas, Earthtones
Dan Mangan, More or Less
Gabrielle Shonk, Gabrielle Shonk
Rhye, Blood
The Barr Brothers, Queen of the Breakers

Alternative album of the year
Destroyer, Ken
WINNER: Dizzy, Baby Teeth
Fucked Up, Dose Your Dreams
Tokyo Police Club, TPC
U.S. Girls, In a Poem Unlimited

Pop album of the year
B​ülow, Damaged
Chromeo, Head Over Heels
Hubert Lenoir, Darlène
** WINNER: Shawn Mendes, Shawn Mendes
Tyler Shaw, Intuition

Rock album of the year
** WINNER: Arkells, Rally Cry
Monster Truck, True Rockers
The Sheepdogs, Changing Colours
The Trews, Civilianaires
Three Days Grace, Outsider

Rap recording of the year
88 Glam, 88Glam Reloaded
Belly, Immigrant
Killy, Surrender Your Soul
NAV, Reckless
** WINNER: Tory Lanez, Love Me Now

R&B/soul recording of the year
Anders, Twos
Black Atlass, Pain & Pleasure
Charlotte Day Wilson, Stone Woman
** WINNER: Jessie Reyez, Being Human in Public
The Weeknd, My Dear Melancholy

Electronic album of the year
Ekali, Crystal Eyes
Felix Cartal, Next Season
Iamhill, Give it a Rest
** WINNER: Milk & Bone, Deception Bay
Rezz, Certain Kind of Magic

Adult contemporary album of the year
Jann Arden, These Are the Days
** WINNER: Michael Bublé, Love
Molly Johnson, Meaning to Tell Ya
Nuela Charles, Distant Danger
Whitehorse, A Whitehorse Winter Classic

Story continues below advertisement

For a complete list of winners, please visit the official Junos site.

Sponsored content