Alberta election: Fort McMurray-Lac La Biche results

Global News projects UCP Laila Goodridge win in Fort McMurray-Lac La Biche.

Below is a full list of the candidates in the riding of Fort McMurray-Lac La Biche, a northern Alberta area with new electoral boundaries that stretch from the southern part of Fort McMurary down to Kikino and Buffalo Lake.

Quick take

After former Wildrose leader Brian Jean stepped down as MLA for Fort McMurray-Conklin, Laila Goodridge won a July byelection for the UCP with about 70 per cent of the vote.

READ MORE: Alberta calls two July byelections to replace departed United Conservatives

Population changes meant the riding boundaries were changed and Goodridge’s riding was dissolved and became the new Fort McMurray-Lac La Biche riding.


United Conservative Party: Laila Goodridge

NDP: Jane Stroud

Alberta Party: Jeff Fafard

Green: Brian Deheer

Alberta Independence Party: Mark Grinder


In 2015, when he was leader of the official opposition, Jean won the riding of Fort McMurray-Conklin for the Wildrose. It was the first time he had won a seat in Alberta provincial politics.

Story continues below advertisement

The Fort McMurray-Conklin riding is in northern Alberta and was created in the 2010 boundary redistribution from the riding of Fort McMurray-Wood Buffalo.

READ MORE: Fort McMurray MLA Brian Jean leaving politics

Jean left in March 2018 after his unsuccessful bid to head the United Conservatives.

Sponsored content