Otonabee South Monaghan Township election results 2018

Longtime councillor and current Peterborough County Warden Joe Taylor has been acclaimed as the new reeve of Otonabee South Monaghan Township.

Taylor is currently the deputy reeve of the township just south of Peterborough. He’ll assume his new role following a decision by Dave Nelson to not return to municipal politics. Both Nelson and Taylor were acclaimed in 2014.



Joe Taylor (acclaimed – current deputy reeve)

Deputy Reeve

Marion Burton (current Otonabee Ward councillor)

Bonnie Clark

Councillor – Otonabee Ward (1 to be elected)

Greg Beard

Story continues below advertisement

Nick Powers

Councillor-at-large (1 to be elected)

Mark Allen

Steve St. Jean

Councillor – South Monaghan Ward (1 to be elected)

Dennis Hannah (incumbent)

Terry Holmes

Ken Howie

The Township

Otonabee South Monaghan Township is in Peterborough County and borders the city of Peterborough, Cavan Monaghan Township and Douro-Dummer Township and the north side of Rice Lake. It includes a number of small rural communities such as Bailieboro, Keene, Lang, Stewart Hall, Cameron. Agriculture is the leading source of employment but Rice Lake also attracts thousands of tourists and anglers annually.

Population (2016)


Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/Ont. median


Crime Severity Index (2017) – municipal/Ont.

38.44/55.40  – *As part of Peterborough County OPP statistics

Story continues below advertisement

Violent Crime Severity Index (2017) – municipal/Ont.

21.73/68.69 – *As part of Peterborough County OPP statistics

Political representation


Kim Rudd (Liberal) – Northumberland-Peterborough South


David Piccini (Progressive Conservative) – Northumberland-Peterborough South

Global News Redesign Global News Redesign
A fresh new look for Global News is here, tell us what you think
Take a Survey

Sponsored Stories