B.C. municipal election 2018: Warfield results

Diane Langman has won another term as mayor of Warfield. The incumbent, who first won the mayor’s chair in a 2017 byelection, earned her first full term with 66 per cent of the vote against her sole challenger Thomas Milne, according to unofficial results posted by CivicInfo BC.

Two incumbent councillors, Raymond Masleck and Arlene Parkinson, each won another term, joining Jim Hill and Cyra Yunkws on council.

Below is the full list of the candidates for mayor and council.



Diane C Langman (incumbent)

Thomas G Milne


Jaimie A Gage

Story continues below advertisement

Jim Hill

Raymond M Masleck (incumbent)

Arlene Parkinson (incumbent)

Cyra Yunkws


The Village of Warfield is a small community in the West Kootenay region of southeastern B.C. It sits just west of Trail and east of Rossland on Highway 22.

Population (2016)



European settlement of Warfield began in the late 1890s when George Legge Merry and George Malcolm Annable bought properties in the area, and John and Sarah Hintz started the Hintz Dairy.

The community got its first post office in 1910. Industrialization began when Cominco Mining and Smelting Company (CM&S) — now Teck Resources — bought the Hintz Farm in 1919.

The community expanded in 1935 when CM&S developed the “Beaver Bend” neighbourhood, and again in 1938 when the company developed 316 lots in Upper Warfield, including 150 low cost homes for workers. Many of the homes still stand, and because of their unique style the area is known as “Mickey Mouse Town.”

The village was formally incorporated in 1952.

Story continues below advertisement

Many of the village’s residents now work in nearby Trail and Rossland, and Teck continues to maintain a major industrial site within the community.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Political representation


Richard Cannings (NDP).


Katrine Conroy (NDP).