B.C. municipal election 2018: Salmo results

Diana Lockwood has been elected mayor of Salmo, dispatching incumbent Stephen White.

Jacqueline Huser, Jonathan Heatlie, Farrell Segall and Jennifer Endersby will make up the village council.



Diana Lockwood – elected

Stephen White (incumbent)


Danny Danforth (incumbent)

Steven Dimock (incumbent)

Jennifer Endersby – elected

Jonathan Heatlie (incumbent) – elected

Jacqueline Huser – elected

Farrell Segall – elected

Story continues below advertisement


You’ll find the Village of Salmo on the Salmo River in B.C.’s West Kootenay region. It’s located where the Crowsnest and the Nelson Nelway Highway meet.

Population (2016)



Salmo became a village in 1946, but its history is traced back to the 19th century, when mining activity was taking place in the Nelson area.

Mines would operate near Salmo, too, and forestry would also become an industry nearby.

But a number of mines would shut down after 1972.

Today, a number of people who work in Trail, Nelson and Castlegar live in Salmo.

Near Salmo is where you’ll find the Salmo River Ranch, which is home to the Shambhala Music Festival.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Political representation


Wayne Stetski (NDP)

Story continues below advertisement


Michelle Mungall (BC NDP)