B.C. municipal election 2018: Kimberley results

Incumbent Kimberly Mayor Don McCormick will be back for another term.

McCormick won 1,674 votes, defeating challenger Albert Hoglund who won 1,152 votes.

Four incumbent councillors were re-elected on Saturday: Darryl Oakley, Nigel Kitto, Sandra Roberts and Kent Goodwin.

They’ll be joined by council newcomers Jason McBain and Kyle Dalum.

Below is the full list candidates for mayor and council in Kimberly.



Albert Hoglund

Don McCormick (incumbent)


Mac Campbell

Story continues below advertisement

Dave Corbould

Kyle Dalum

Kevin Dunnebacke

Kent Goodwin (incumbent)

Craig Janzen

Nigel Kitto (incumbent)

Joshua Lockhart

Jason McBain

Michelle Nex

Darryl Oakley (incumbent)

Wendy Qureshi

Sandra Roberts (incumbent)

Steven Royer

Jay Simon-Cumming

Referendum question

Are you in favour of the City of Kimberley selling the assets of SunMine to Teck Metals Limited for fair market value?


Nestled between the Rocky and Purcell Mountains is Kimberley. It’s located about 30 kilometres from Cranbrook.

Population (2016)



Originally known as Mark Creek Crossing, Kimberley came into being in 1892, when prospectors searched the nearby mountains for galena, a lead zinc ore.

Story continues below advertisement

They staked a claim at North Star, which in later days would come to be known as the location for Kimberley Alpine Resort.

Further prospectors arrived and found a rich deposit of minerals. The “Sullivan Mine” would soon be founded, and become the world’s biggest zinc and lead mine.

Its minerals exhausted, Kimberley would go on to be re-branded as a tourist destination. The town would be designed around an alpine theme and take on the moniker of the “Bavarian City of the Rockies.”

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016

RCMP – municipal/B.C.

27.88 (-52.25)/93.63 (-0.17)

RCMP – rural

30.23 (-52.62)/93.63 (-0.17)

Violent Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016

RCMP – municipal

15.61 (-64.66)/74.86 (-9.81)

RCMP – rural

27.52 (-66.38)/74.86 (-9.81)

Story continues below advertisement

Political representation


Wayne Stetski (NDP)


Doug Clovechok (BC Liberal)