B.C. municipal election 2018: Golden results

Incumbent Ron Oszust has been acclaimed as mayor of Golden after no challengers came forward. This will be Oszust’s second term.

All of Golden’s incumbent councillors who ran for reelection – Chris Hambruch, Leslie Adams, Connie Barlow, Eddie Leigan, and Caleb Moss – have won themselves another term. First-time candidate John Manuel beat out Jim de Bolebec for the final seat. The results are based on unofficial numbers posted by CivicInfo BC

Below is the full list of the candidates for mayor and council.



Ron Oszust (incumbent)


Leslie Adams (incumbent)

Connie Barlow (incumbent)

Story continues below advertisement

Jim de Bolebec

Chris Hambruch (incumbent)

Eddie Leigan (incumbent)

John Manuel

Caleb Moss (incumbent)


Golden is located alongside the Columbia River in southeastern B.C., about 150 kilometres from Revelstoke.

Population (2016)



It was 1807 when David Thompson explored the Columbia River where it passes through the present-day location of the Town of Golden.

But it would be some time before interest grew in the area as people looked for a passage through the Rockies to build the CP Rail line from one coast to the other.

The Pallister expedition came to the Golden area for this purpose.

One of their party was kicked by a horse. He survived, but the incident gave a name to waters that pass through Kicking Horse River and Golden Kicking Horse Pass.

Then, in the 1880s, Major A.B. Rogers would find a pass through the Selkirk Mountains; Rogers Pass would later be named for him.

Story continues below advertisement

Rogers would start the first settlement in Golden in 1882.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Political representation


Wayne Stetski (NDP)


Doug Clovechok (BC Liberal)