October 12, 2017 9:04 pm

Terry Teegee elected as BC Assembly of First Nations regional chief

Terry Teegee.

Assembly of First Nations

A long-serving tribal chief from northern B.C. was elected as the regional chief for the B.C. Assembly of First Nations (BCAFN) this week.

Terry Teegee of the Takla Lake First Nation was elected over Chief Maureen Chapman of the Skawahlook First Nation after two ballots, said a Thursday news release from the AFN.

Coverage of the Assembly of First Nations on Globalnews.ca:

Since 2012, Teegee has served as tribal chief at the Carrier Sekani Tribal Council, an organization that provides technical and political support to eight northern First Nations.

He previously served as vice-tribal chief there from 2009 to 2012.

Teegee was also the B.C. representative for the National Aboriginal Forestry Council between 2008 and 2014.

READ MORE: First Nations leaders divided on troubled MMIW inquiry: Bellegarde

The BCAFN also filled a number of positions on its board of directors.

Heiltsuk First Nation Chief Marilyn Slett and Katzie First Nation Chief Susan Miller were re-elected to two-year terms, while Nisga’a Chief Charles Morvin and Upper Nicola Chief Harvey McLeod will fill two empty director positions up to the end of 2018.

Meanwhile, Angela Charlie of the Sts’alles and Musqueam First Nation was elected as the BCAFN’s female youth representative.

© 2017 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News