September 1, 2017 11:25 am
Updated: September 1, 2017 11:27 am

Jeremy Harrison withdraws from Saskatchewan Party leadership race

Jeremy Harrison withdraws from Saskatchewan Party leadership race, will support Scott Moe.

File / Global News

Jeremy Harrison is no longer running to be the next leader of the Saskatchewan Party.

Harrison announced Friday morning he is withdrawing from the race and throwing his support behind Scott Moe.

Story continues below

READ MORE: What hurdles potential candidates in Sask. Party leadership race face

“Scott is a longtime friend and the candidate in this race who most closely shares both my values and principles,” Harrison said in a statement.

“The most important thing to me has been that those values and principles be represented by the leader of our party and I feel it is imperative that party members have a clear choice in this regard.”

He added that Moe will “fight the federal carbon tax with every tool at our provinces disposal.”

Harrison, the MLA for Meadow Lake, had entered the race to replace Premier Brad Wall on Aug. 19.

Moe has called a press conference for Friday morning in Saskatoon to announce his intention to run.

READ MORE: Saskatchewan Party to elect new leader in January

Also running are Tina Beaudry-MellorGord Wyant, Alanna Koch and Ken Cheveldayoff.

A new leader, and premier, will be chosen by the Saskatchewan Party at a leadership convention in Saskatoon on Jan. 27.

© 2017 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.