B.C. Election 2017: 4 Liberal ministers unseated

B.C. Liberal leader Christy Clark waves to the crowd following the B.C. Liberal election in Vancouver, B.C., Wednesday, May 10, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward.

Four Liberal ministers lost their seats in notable upsets in the 2017 B.C. Election.

Attorney General and Minister of Justice Suzanne Anton lost her seat to the NDP’s George Chow by more than four per cent in the riding of Vancouver-Fraserview.

“I hope that my successor will follow-up on the things we were working on because there’s a lot of things to be done here in the riding,” Anton told Global News. “I’m quite sorry that I’m not going to be the one doing them because it really has been an honour to serve such a multi-cultural riding.”

WATCH: A disappointed Suzanne Anton thanks her riding after being defeated by NDP candidate George Chow in Vancouver-Fraserview

Click to play video: 'BC Election: Suzanne Anton concedes defeat in Vancouver-Fraserview'
BC Election: Suzanne Anton concedes defeat in Vancouver-Fraserview

Minister of Community, Sport, Cultural Development & Minister Responsible for TransLink Peter Fassbender lost his Surrey-Fleetwood seat to the NDP’s Jagrup Brar in a considerable defeat.

Story continues below advertisement

“Like everything, the people decide,” Fassbender said. “This is a complicated election. I think there were a lot of divisive issues.”

WATCH: Fassbender speaks about his loss to BC NDP candidate Jagrup Brar in the riding of Surrey-Fleetwood

Click to play video: 'BC Election: Peter Fassbender defeated in Surrey-Fleetwood riding'
BC Election: Peter Fassbender defeated in Surrey-Fleetwood riding

Amrik Virk, the Minister of Technology, Innovation and Citizens’ Services, lost out to the NDP candidate in Surrey-Guildford. Several other battleground ridings in Surrey leaned towards the New Democrats. In total, NDP candidates were elected in seven of the nine Surrey ridings.

WATCH: Virk has been unseated in his riding of Surrey-Guildford 

Click to play video: 'BC Election: Amrick Virk unseated'
BC Election: Amrick Virk unseated
“The public has spoken,” Virk said. “[They] have decided what their priorities are and I respect that.”
Story continues below advertisement

Finally, Minister of State for Emergency Preparedness Naomi Yamamoto lost her seat to the NDP’s Bowinn Ma in the riding of North Vancouver-Lonsdale.

Minister of Energy and Mines Bill Bennett and Minister of Health Terry Lake did not run in the election.

Sponsored content