Saskatchewan election results 2016: NDP wins Saskatoon Nutana riding

Cathy Sproule of the NDP has won the Saskatoon Nutana riding with 3,775 votes beating out the Sask. Party’s Jamie Brandrick who got 2,422 votes.

Summary: NDP MLA Cathy Sproule seeks re-election in Saskatoon Nutana, made up primarily of the Nutana neighbourhood.

Boundaries: The riding is bordered on the north and west side by the South Saskatchewan River. On the east side, the boundary runs south along University Bridge to Clarence Avenue South, then south to 13th Street East, east to Wiggins Avenue South, south to 8th Street East, west to McKinnon Avenue South, south to Taylor Street East, west to Eastlake Avenue, south to Adelaide Street, west to Lorne Avenue and south to the city limits, which also makes up the south border of the riding.

Last Election: Cathy Sproule of the NDP won the seat with just over 49 per cent of the vote, with the Saskatchewan Party’s Zoria Broughton taking 43 per cent of the ballots cast.

History: Prior to Sproule winning the seat in 2011, the riding was represented by former NDP cabinet minister Pat Atkinson from 1995 to 2011.


Saskatchewan Party: Jamie Brandrick, Service Supervisor with Saskatoon Transit

NDP: Catherine Sproule, MLA since 2011

Liberal: Robin Schneider, Health Sciences technician at the University of Saskatchewan

Green: Jaime Fairley

Sponsored content