Federal Election 2015: Peterborough-Kawartha riding results

Real time live results available on Monday, October 19 2015 after polls close. Overall results will be available here.

Summary: Peterborough-Kawartha will elect a new MP in 2015. It is a revised version of the former Peterborough riding, which was considered a bellwether, electing a member of the governing party in all but four elections between 1953 and 2011.

Boundaries: This riding consists of the city of Peterborough and all rural lands in Peterborough County to the north of it. It previously included the southern edge of the county, but that area has been redistributed to Northumberland-Peterborough South.

Last Election: Former Conservative MP Dean Del Mastro, who was found guilty of violating the Elections Act in his 2008 victory and sentenced to one month in jail, defeated NDP candidate Dave Nickle by 24.8 per cent to win his third term.

Breaking news from Canada and around the world sent to your email, as it happens.

History: With the exception of 1980, when the Progressive Conservatives were victorious, the party forming government has won the Peterborough riding in every election since 1965. Provincially, Peterborough has also been a bellwether riding since 1987.

Demographics: English is the first language of 92.9 per cent of residents as of the 2011 census, the sixth highest figure in Ontario. Seniors comprise 20.5 per cent of the population, the fifth highest number in the province.


Conservatives: Michael Skinner, businessman

NDP: Dave Nickle, retired secondary school teacher and the NDP’s 2011 candidate

Story continues below advertisement

Liberals: Maryam Monsef, community leader and 2014 Peterborough mayoral candidate

Greens: Doug Mason, teacher

Strength in Democracy: Toban Leckie

Sponsored content