September 8, 2015 10:22 am
Updated: August 5, 2016 8:09 pm

Federal Election 2015: Newmarket-Aurora riding results


Summary: Conservative MP Lois Brown was elected here in 2008, and is seeking re-election for a third term. She’ll face the same Liberal candidate she defeated in 2011, Kyle Peterson.

Boundaries: This riding used to include all of Newmarket and Aurora. Now Aurora has been split in two, with this riding including only the portion north of Wellington Street.

Story continues below

Last Election: Brown won in a landslide, taking 54.3 per cent of the vote, while her Liberal challenger Peterson earned just 23.9 per cent. If these boundaries were in effect in 2011, the Conservatives would still have won with 54.1 per cent of the vote, followed by the Liberals with 23.7 per cent.

History: This riding was created in 2004, when it was won by Conservative Belinda Stronach. She crossed to the Liberals and won re-election under that banner in 2006, but did not run in 2008.


Conservative: Lois Brown, MP

NDP: Yvonne Kelly, social worker

Liberal: Kyle Peterson, lawyer

Green: Vanessa Long, relationship coach

Progressive Canadian: Dorian Baxter

© 2015 Shaw Media

Report an error


Comments closed.

Due to the sensitive and/or legal subject matter of some of the content on, we reserve the ability to disable comments from time to time.

Please see our Commenting Policy for more.