Federal Election 2015: Mississauga Centre riding results

Real time live results available on Monday, October 19 2015 after polls close. Overall results will be available here.

Summary: This riding, which was abolished in the 2004 redistribution, has been recreated for 2015. There is no sitting MP running here.

Boundaries: Bits of four other ridings have been combined to form this new riding. The largest portion comes from Mississauga-Erindale, with a sizable portion from Mississauga East-Cooksville, and small portions from Mississauga-Streetsville and Mississauga-Brampton South.

Last Election: In 2011, voters within the boundaries of this new riding voted 41.6 per cent for the Conservatives, and 36.7 per cent for the Liberals.

History: All of the ridings that make up this new riding elected Conservatives in 2011. In 2004, 2006 and 2008, voters elected just one Conservative MP, with the rest being Liberal. But voters in the region have seen some MPs change parties after election, including Eve Adams, who left the Conservatives to join the Liberals, and Wajid Khan, who left the Liberals to join the Conservative Party.

Demographics: In the 2011 census, 62.8 per cent of people in this riding were immigrants, fifth highest in the country. 16.4 per cent identified as Muslims in the National Household Survey, second highest in Canada.


Conservative:  Julius Tiangson, financial advisor

NDP:  Farheen Khan, social worker

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal:  Omar Alghabra, mechanical engineer

Green:  Linh Nguyen, Deputy Leader, Green Party of Ontario

Sponsored content