Will Smith, Viola Davis part of ‘Suicide Squad’ cast photo in Toronto

Director David Ayer (far left) poses with the cast of 'Suicide Squad' in Toronto.

TORONTO — Talk about star power.

The cast of Suicide Squad — minus Jared Leto and Scott Eastwood — posed for a photo in Toronto on Wednesday with director David Ayer (Fury).

The big budget Warner Bros./DC Comics movie is about to start production in the city.

The photo, posted to Twitter by Ayer, shows Will Smith, Margot Robbie, Viola Davis, Jai Courtney, Cara Delevingne, Joel Kinnaman, Jay Hernandez, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Jim Parrack, Ike Barinholtz, Adam Beach and Karen Fukuhara.

Suicide Squad, shooting under the code name Bravo 14, is about a group of supervillains from the DC Comics universe who are assigned to complete top secret missions for the U.S. government in exchange for commuted prison sentences.

Story continues below advertisement

The team is supervised by Dr. Amanda Waller, played by Davis.

Canada is represented by Beach, the Manitoba-born actor whose credits include the TV series Arctic Air and feature film Flags of our Fathers. It’s not yet known who he is playing in the movie.

Most of the cast members are working in Toronto for the first time. (Kinnaman made last year’s RoboCop in the city and Akinnuoye-Agbaje was in Toronto to shoot 2005’s Get Rich or Die Tryin’ and last year’s Pompeii.)

Cameras are scheduled to roll until the end of August, with most of the work being done on the soundstages of Pinewood Studios.

Suicide Squad is due in theatres in August 2016.

Sponsored content