Musical chairs continues in Alberta politics

WATCH ABOVE: Alberta’s centre-left political parties are hoping to make some big gains whenever the next election is called. As Tom Vernon reports, the Liberals and NDP each believe they can close the gap on the PCs.

EDMONTON – One day after four MLAs announced they are stepping away from politics, Tuesday was another day filled with announcements from Alberta parties.

On Tuesday morning, NDP MLA Brian Mason didn’t announce his resignation as had been rumoured; instead he announced he will seek re-election.

“I hate to be the bearer of bad news for Jim Prentice, but I’m going to run again,” Mason proclaimed.

“Ultimately, I don’t see anyone who’s prepared to stand up to Prentice and the PC government except Rachel Notley and the NDP.”

Notley took over for Mason as leader of the NDP in 2014.

Story continues below advertisement

WATCH: Who is in and who is out: changes in Alberta politics

Meanwhile, one of the founding members of the Alberta Party is seeking a PC nomination for Edmonton-Rutherford.

Chris LaBossiere helped to create the Alberta Party, and has worked in the private sector as the CEO of the Alberta company Yardstick Software.

“I’ve very much enjoyed my career in the private sector over the past 25 years, and I’ve learned so much,” he said.

“I am hopeful that I will have the opportunity to serve Albertans, and put what I’ve learned to work for them.”

He’s looking to replace Fred Horne as the MLA for Edmonton-Rutherford. Horne has announced he won’t seek re-election.

READ MORE: Alberta Tories ramping up candidate nominations; election speculation grows

LaBossiere’s former party got involved in Tuesday’s announcements, revealing a new executive director. Tim Grover is taking over the position for the Alberta Party. The party will meet this weekend to choose an interim leader and build the leadership contest.

WATCH: The political announcements continued Tuesday as speculation of a spring election grows. Michel Boyer explains.

READ MORE: Raj Sherman won’t seek re-election; Doug Griffiths resigns

On Monday, PC MLA Doug Griffiths resigned, while fellow PC MLAs Mary Anne Jablonski and Donna Kennedy-Glans announced they wouldn’t seek re-election. Alberta Liberal leader Raj Sherman announced he is stepping down as party leader and would not seek re-election.

Story continues below advertisement

Meanwhile, Derek Fildebrandt, formerly with the Canadian Taxpayers Federation, announced he will be seeking the Wildrose nomination in Strathmore-Brooks.

Sponsored content