September 17, 2014 8:26 am

7 in the race to become Winnipeg’s next mayor

Who do you think won the mayoral candidates debate?

Global News File

WINNIPEG – The deadline has come and gone and seven mayoral hopefuls remain.

The deadline for candidates to officially file nomination papers  was Tuesday at 4:30 p.m.

The race lost three candidates – Hazem Aslan, Buck Duchene and Mike Vogiatzakis. However, the latter is not pleased with his ejection from the race.

The seven remaining candidates vying for the top city job are:

  • Judy Wasylycia-Leis
  • Brian Bowman
  • Gord Steeves
  • Robert Falcon Ouellette
  • Paula Havixbeck
  • David Sanders
  • Michel Fillion

As for city council, 60 candidates across the city will be running in Winnipeg’s 15 wards.

The race in Daniel McIntyre has 6 vying for the seat including a former Winnipeg Blue Bomber. Dave Donaldson is looking to unseat longtime incumbent Harvey Smith.

River Heights – Fort Garry will pit incumbent Jon Orlikow against the city’s former bug expert Taz Stuart.

Russ Wyatt announced Friday he would not be looking to keep his seat on council, saying he would be attempting to make the move towards federal politics.

However at the eleventh hour, Wyatt filed his papers. The Transcona area councillor said he received numerous calls from voters in his ward asking him to stay on council.

Candidates have until Wednesday at 4:30 p.m. to back out of the election.

Voters head to the polls on October 22nd.


Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.