Russia abolishes Daylight Saving Time

Russia has approved a plan to do away with Daylight Saving Time on Oct. 26, 2014. JEFF PACHOUD/AFP/Getty Images

TORONTO – According to Russian news agency ITAR-TASS, Russia’s Federation Council has approved a law that will permanently return the country to winter time.

The country has nine time zones, but at 2 a.m. on October 26, clocks around the country will go back one hour. Moscow Standard Time will be used to compute the new time zones.

Not only is Daylight Saving Time being abolished, but two new time zones will be created, upping the total to 11.

Russia last switched to Daylight Saving Time in 2011, setting the clocks one hour forward permanently. According to the Russian news agency, it was done as an experiment which was initially well-received. However, since then, a survey done last year found that less than a third of Russians approved.

The vote was nearly unanimous.


Sponsored content