June 13, 2014 2:24 am

Sandra Yeung Racco wins Thornhill for Liberals

Liberal candidate Sandra Yeung Racco


Sandra Yeung Racco has taken Thornhill for the Liberals, beating PC incumbent Gila Martow.

The candidates for all three major parties had also run in a February byelection, which Martow won.

This time around, Yeung Racco won the riding after a close race – winning by fewer than a hundred votes. NDP candidate Cindy Hackelberg came a distant third, with 8.1 per cent of the vote.

The February 2014 byelection was triggered by the resignation of PC MPP Peter Shurman. The riding has bounced back and forth between the Liberals and PCs.

Story continues below

Yeung Racco was a city councillor in Vaughan and a past chair of the Spadina-York Subway Extension Committee.

Martow, an optometrist, ran an eye clinic attached to Markham Stouffville Hospital before she was elected. According to her website, she has fundraised and volunteered for children’s charities and for the Canadian National Institute for the Blind.

Hackelberg, who also ran in 2011, is a local television journalist.

Full results from the 2014 Ontario provincial election

More information about this riding

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News