April 15, 2014 3:03 pm
Updated: September 4, 2014 7:55 pm

The Alberta PCs announce leadership race rules

The Alberta Legislature, March 6, 2014

Emily Mertz, Global News

EDMONTON – The Progressive Conservative Party of Alberta has announced the rules for the upcoming leadership race.

The individual donation limit has been set at $30,000.

Nominations opened at 9 a.m. May 15 and  candidates had until May 30 to file their documents.

Official candidates were vetted and announced at a PC event on June 2.

Story continues below

Thomas Lukaszuk and Ric McIver, both Alberta PC MLAs, are in the running, along with former federal cabinet minister Jim Prentice.

READ MORE: Alberta PC leadership candidates officially introduced 

“After careful consideration and discussion by the PCAA Board and by the Leadership Election Committee, we have come up with what we feel is a fair set of rules for the leadership selection that will help us choose best new leader of this party and premier of this province,” said PC Alberta president Jim McCormick.

“We are looking forward to an exciting summer as our supporters and volunteers help select a new leader.”

Nominees must pay a $50,000 non-refundable entry fee.

The race comes after former Premier Alison Redford resigned on March 23 in the wake of repeated expense scandals.

Voting will take place on Sept. 6, and – if necessary – Sept. 20.

While elections in Canada are typically done by paper ballot, the PCs have decided to go high-tech for the leadership race. Members were provided with a PIN and will cast their votes either online or over the phone.

The move has led to some concerns over the potential for voter fraud, but the party insists security measures have been put in place to ensure the vote is fair and legitimate.

READ MORE: PC party responds to voting system concerns ahead of leadership vote

If no candidate receives the majority of the votes Saturday, Sept. 6, a second round of voting with the top two candidates will take place on the 20th.

The PC party’s constitution states a new leader must be chosen no less than four months and no more than six months after a leader resigns.

All party members are eligible to vote.

For more information on the voting process and eligibility, click here.

Dave Hancock is serving as interim PC leader and premier.

With files from The Canadian Press

© 2014 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News