PC’s reclaim Kirkfield Park seat in narrow byelection victory

Kevin Klein. Global News / File

The Manitoba PC’s are hanging on to their seat in the Kirkfield Park riding, but it came right down to the wire.

According to unofficial results from Election Manitoba, Kevin Klein of the PC’s received 2,356 votes edging out the NDP’s Logan Oxenham, who finished with 2,196 votes.

Story continues below advertisement

Klein, the former Winnipeg city councillor, just came off a third-place finish in the Winnipeg mayoral race in October and after being out of City Hall for a short period of time, he’s now making the move to the Manitoba Legislative Building.

The Liberals and candidate Rhonda Nichol picked up 1,741 votes while the Green Party and candidate Dennis Bayomi finished a distant fourth with 70 votes.

Official results will be announced on Friday.


Story continues below advertisement


The byelection was called after former MLA Scott Fielding, who had held the seat in 2016, resigned back in June

READ MORE: Kirkfield Park candidates push hard into last days of campaign

Before 2016, the riding was NDP from 2007-2016 led by Sharon Blady, but outside that nine-year stretch, the riding has been blue since its inception in 1981.

Voter turnout was just over 36 per cent with 6,372 ballots cast.

Sponsored content