Ontario election 2022 results: Peterborough-Kawartha

The riding of Peterborough-Kawartha will maintain its bell whether status after re-electing Progressive Conservative candidate Dave Smith in the 2022 Ontario election on Thursday night.

Smith was first elected in 2018.

Since 1977, the party to win riding has also won the general election and the feat repeated itself on Thursday with the Doug Ford-led PC’s earning a majority victory.

Read more: Ontario Progressive Conservatives win another majority government

The 52-year-old Smith, a resident of Douro-Dummer Township, is a former software company manager of product development. Over the last four years with the PC’s he served as Parliamentary Assistant to the Ministry of Northern Development Mines Natural Resources and Forestry, the Ministry of Indigenous Affairs (positions he held before the election) and previously as to the Ministry of Northern Development Mines and Energy. He has also served as chairperson for the Standing Committee on General Government and a member of the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills and the Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs.

Story continues below advertisement

Visit this page on election night for a complete breakdown of up to the minute results.


PC Party of Ontario: Dave Smith (Incumbent)

Ontario NDP: Jen Deck

Ontario Liberal Party: Greg Dempsey

Green Party of Ontario: Robert Gibson

Ontario Party: Tom Marazzo

New Blue: Rebecca Quinnell

Sponsored content