Finalized candidate lists released for Lethbridge municipal election

Click to play video: 'Lethbridge preparing for municipal election as finalized list of candidates announced'
Lethbridge preparing for municipal election as finalized list of candidates announced
WATCH ABOVE: On the heels of the federal election one day prior, the City of Lethbridge released its official list of candidates for the Oct. 18 municipal election on Tuesday. Eloise Therien has more on what to expect when heading to the polls next month – Sep 21, 2021

The nomination period for the City of Lethbridge’s upcoming municipal election ended Monday, with the updated list made public as of Tuesday at noon.

Lethbridge residents will head to the polls on Oct. 18, 2021.

The nomination period ran from Jan. 1 to Sept. 20, 2021, at 12:00 p.m.

Six individuals are vying for the single mayoral seat while 32 are looking to fill one of eight councillor spots.

Mayor candidates

  • Sheldon Joseph Day Chief
  • Blaine E. Hyggen
  • Gary L. Klassen
  • Bridget Mearns
  • Kolton (the Maniac) Menzak
  • Stephen Mogdan

Councillor candidates

  • Kelti (Kel) Baird
  • Marissa Black
  • Mark Campbell (incumbent)
  • Jeff Carlson (incumbent)
  • Ben Christensen
  • Belinda Crowson (incumbent)
  • Rajko Dodic
  • Rufa Doria
  • Jerry Firth
  • Bill Ginther
  • Zachary Hampton
  • Dale P. Leier
  • Ryan Lepko
  • Darcy Logan
  • Shelby J. Macleod
  • Bernard (Bernie) Mbonihankuye
  • John Middleton-Hope
  • Nick Paladino
  • Ryan Parker (incumbent)
  • Harold (Harold!) Pereverseff
  • Michael Petrakis
  • Jennifer (Jenn) Prosser
  • Chris Rowley
  • Wally Schenk
  • Jenn Schmidt-Rempel
  • Suketu Shah
  • Boyd Thomas
  • Tim Vanderbeek
  • Robin Ryan Walker
  • Bradley L. Whalen
  • Davey Wiggers
  • Ryan Wolfe

Public school trustee candidates

  • Andrea Andreachuk
  • Brooke Culley
  • Tyler Demers (incumbent)
  • David Gurr
  • Jeff Hill
  • Henry Ross Jacobs
  • Kristine Larkin
  • Daniel (Dan) Leis
  • Christine Light (incumbent)
  • David Low
  • Vic Mensch
  • Allison Purcell
  • Joanne Siljak
  • Locke Spencer
  • Genny Steed
  • Craig H. Whitehead

Separate school trustee candidates

  • Francis Cote (Ward 1 – incumbent)
  • Tricia Doherty (Ward 2)
  • Linda Ellefson (Ward 2)
  • Roison Gibb (Ward 2)
  • Bryan Kranzler (Ward 2 – incumbent)
  • Keith McDonald (Ward 2  incumbent)
  • Carmen P Mombourquette (Ward 2)
  • Bob Spitzig (Ward 2 – imcumbent)
  • Bart Denie (Ward 4)
  • Blake Dolan (Ward 4)
  • Thomas Machaeck (Ward 5)

No nominees were filed for Ward 3 prior to the Sept. 20 deadline.

Story continues below advertisement

The city is accepting nominations again for that position on Tuesday from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and will continue to do so until the required number of nominations has been received until Monday, Sept. 27.

“At this point, we would just encourage anyone who’s willing and able and interested to please apply for that position,” deputy city clerk David Sarsfield explained.

How the election will work

Bonnie Hillford, the city’s returning officer, said the city has implemented a new initiative to help boost voter turnout.

In 2017, only 27 per cent of electors turned up to vote.

“I would like to see 50 per cent, maybe 60 to double that number,” she said.

Advance voting will be available during three weekends leading up to election day from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the following locations:

Story continues below advertisement
  • Oct. 1, 2 at city hall
  • Oct. 8, 9, 10 at Exhibition Park (drive-thru voting)
  • Oct. 14, 15, 16 at the ATB Centre

“We want everybody to come out that can vote to the advance, to make it less crowded or easier on the day of,” Hillford explained.

A total of 14 voting locations will be open on Oct. 18 from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m., and residents can cast their ballots wherever is most convenient for them.

Four of those are in north Lethbridge: Trinity Reformed Church, Italian Canadian Cultural Centre, VIA Church and Westminster Community Hall.

South locations include CASA, Lethbridge Transit Terminal, Assumption Church Hall, Heritage Hall at Lethbridge Exhibition Park, City Light Church and the Holiday Inn on Mayor Magrath Dr. S.

Anyone who wants to vote on the west side can head to Maranatha Christian Reformed Church, Immanuel Lutheran Church, ATB Centre or University Drive Alliance Church.

The city says a 16-page brochure containing all the necessary voter information will be mailed out to residents next week.

Sponsored content