Canada election results: Edmonton Manning

Conservative Party candidate and incumbent Ziad Aboultaif was projected to be re-elected in the riding of Edmonton Manning on Monday night.

As of 10:03 p.m., Aboultaif had 2,245 more votes than NDP candidate Charmaine St. Germain with 90 out of 173 polls reporting.

READ MORE: Real-time results in the federal election 

Located in the far northeast corner of Alberta’s capital, Edmonton Manning is bordered by Fort Saskatchewan in the northeast, Sherwood Park in the southeast, 66 Street and the Canadian National Railway in the southwest and CFB Edmonton in the northwest.

Voters elected Aboultaif to represent them for a second term in 2019. Aboultaif beat his Liberal opponent Kamal Kadri by 18,733 votes – a margin of 34.4 percentage points. The NDP’s Charmaine St. Germain placed third, collecting 17.6 per cent of the vote.

Story continues below advertisement

Aboultaif, a Lebanese-Canadian, serves on the parliamentary standing committee on international trade and was previously a business owner in Edmonton.

A new riding as of 2015, Edmonton Manning was made up of parts of the Edmonton East, Edmonton—Sherwood Park and Edmonton—St. Alberta ridings.

Edmonton Manning has 121,048 residents and 89,968 registered voters. Immigrants make up close to 31 per cent of the population. Cantonese, Arabic and Punjabi are some of the most popular non-official languages in the region.


Conservative: Ziad Aboultaif (incumbent)

Liberal: Donna Lynn Smith

NDP: Charmaine St. Germain

PPC: Martin Halvorson

Marxist-Leninist Party: Andre Vachon

Sponsored content