Canada election results: Hamilton Centre

Elections Canada confirmed that Matthew Green was elected in the riding of Hamilton Centre on Sept. 20, 2019.

The New Democrat (NDP) received 48.4 per cent of 41,616 votes cast in the riding followed by Liberal candidate Margaret Bennett who collected 26.5 per cent.

The riding has been an NDP stronghold since 2004, when it was first represented in the House of Commons. Green won the seat in 2019 after longtime MP David Christopherson did not seek re-election.

Christopherson had been the only MP for Hamilton Centre since 2004. He announced plans to retire on July 5, 2018.

The riding, which might also be called “downtown Hamilton,” is bordered by Highway 403 to the west, the Lincoln Alexander Parkway and Sherman Access in the south, and Kenilworth Avenue to the east.

Story continues below advertisement

Recent immigration to this riding includes people from the Philippines, Syria, and China, according to the 2016 census. Portuguese, Spanish and Italian are just a few of the most popular non-official languages in the region.


Liberals: Margaret Bennett
Conservatives: Fabian Grenning
NDP: Matthew Green (incumbent)
Green: Avra Weinstein
People’s Party Of Canada: Kevin Barber
Communist Party of Canada: Nivel Cheriyan
Independent: Nathalie Xian Yi Yan


Sponsored content