Louie re-elected as Osoyoos Indian Band Chief

Chief Clarence Louie of the Osoyoos Indian Band was elected to his 14th term as Chief. Courtesy: Times-Chronicle

Osoyoos Indian Band Chief Clarence Louie was re-elected to his 14th term as OIB Chief.

Louie received 181 votes while runner-up Ron Hall had 57 votes and Sandra Falkus 32 votes.

Read more: Feasibility study sought for regional aquatic centre in South Okanagan

The election saw 11 candidates for council, with incumbent councilors Nathan McGinnis (145 votes), Veronica (Ronny) McGinnis (135 votes), Leona Baptiste (152 votes) and Sammy Jo Louie (162 votes) retain their seats.

Newly elected councilor Sonya Jensen received the most votes for councilor with 177.

Read more: ‘Racist criminals’: Osoyoos Indian Band Chief denounces vandalism of sacred site

Louie was re-elected to his 14th term as Osoyoos Indian Band Chief, a position he was first elected to in 1984.